Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Finally finished this little painting a week or so ago:

Bunny_Rabbit_Nature_Tea_Cup_Fantasy_Gina_Matarazzo

Sophia Zettericini, con Torta (Oil on paper, 3.25″ x 5.5″)

Here it is in its intended frame:

Bunny_Rabbit_Nature_Cupcake_Fantasy_Framed_Gina_Matarazzo

She is for sale, framed, btw. Contact me if you’re interested. 🙂

Part of what I love about working as a creative is what it does to my brain.

There’s a weird phenomenon that happens that I can kind of feel. Well, maybe it’s not a feeling, but a sense that things are popping or bubbling into existence. This happens at different times. It’s kind of like a fuzzy picture coming into focus in my mind’s eye and then boom…there it is. I think it’s at its peak for me when I’m trying to come up with an idea for a picture. And then it continues as I’m painting something from nothing into something. A painting and its imagery is really just illusion come into a form our brains can recognize symbolically. So when a painting is finished, the challenge for me is whether it lived up to the expectations I had while the idea was in my head.

It happens to me all day as I’m trying to come up with decisions and ideas while designing books. But it’s the most challenging for me when I’m working on making pictures. I love collecting ideas and figuring out how to finesse things together. It’s such a creative mess and I love untangling it!

What do you love about the creative process?

 

 

