Tags

, , ,

"Baby Bunny" study by me.

“Baby Bunny” study by me.

chipmunkbeebeeE

“Baby Chipmunk” study by Me.

I like to give myself a reality check often. This week I pondered how happy could I be with only a few possessions. I was pleased to see how few things would make me content. I don’t believe I’m attached to things. I like things, and I like having things, but I know deep down, that they don’t mean all that much. For example, if I break a special Halloween item (the horror!), I get sad for about 5 seconds and think “oh well.” BUT, there are a few things I would take with me on a deserted island or if I had to live in my car. One of which is the greatest book I ever bought, which I picked up in Stockbridge, MA at a Harvest Fest a couple weeks ago: “The Art of Beatrix Potter.” See a few examples of the works collected in this wonderful out of print book:

Plate from "The Art of Beatrix Potter"

Plate from “The Art of Beatrix Potter”

Plate from "The Art of Beatrix Potter"

Plate from “The Art of Beatrix Potter”

Plate from "The Art of Beatrix Potter"

Plate from “The Art of Beatrix Potter”

Currently, I’d say this is THE book I’d keep with me. It inspires me and delights me greatly. I find her work sort of effortless looking. Sweet and simple, and a treat to look at. I could look at this book forever. I’d also keep the new Grover doll I bought in NY in the spring. I’m not a big doll collector, much less stuffed animals, but he reminds me of my childhood and all the happiness he and other Muppets like him gave to me. I become instantly happy when I look at him. INSTANTLY! I’d probably keep one or two key pieces of jewelry that mean something to me…and of course pencils and a sketchbook, for obvious reasons. That’s it. Ohโ€“and my cat shoes. They give me instant joy when I look at them too!

What few things would you take on a deserted island? (And I’m not talking, matches, wood, and water. Let’s pretend that stuff is there. I mean luxury items.)

