Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

"Sleeping Baby Bunny" by Gina Matarazzo (8" x 10" Oil on Clayboard)

“Sleeping Baby Bunny” by Gina Matarazzo (8″ x 10″ Oil on Clayboard)

Here is the final oil painting for “Sleeping Baby Bunny.” I’ve been sitting on it for about a week or so, and I’m ready to share. In retrospect, it was a good move on my part to work on this one first. I hadn’t painted anything in several months and I needed to get back into the swing of things with a smaller painting. Now I feel ready to take on the other painting, which is much more ambitious. The drawing is transferred onto the board, sealed, sanded and ready to go. Can’t wait to get started!

What's on my easel now...

What’s on my easel now…

Side note, MS and I saw “Maleficent” last night. Now that’s the Disney magic I remember! Just loved it. It’s so great when stories of familiar characters get fleshed out and you see a different side to the story (well, when it’s done as nicely as this, that is). All my needs were satisfied in the script too. I got worried a few times, but it turned out the way I had hoped. And BEAUTIFUL is an understatement. Just GORGEOUS visuals. Awesome creatures! Fabulous costumes! Do yourself a favor and see it if you have any interest in this kind of tale. Maybe try to watch “Sleeping Beauty” beforehand to see how it all connects. That’s something both MS and I want to do now, before we see it again to see how everything ties in. One of the cool little details is they play a new version of “Once Upon a Dream” after the credits and when you listen to it after seeing the movie, it really changes the meaning of the lyrics. Nice little detail. Here’s a link to the song.

Have you seen “Maleficent” yet? What did you think of it?

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

