Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Dainty Doggy” was completed over this long weekend and I’ve also started considering the whole book, getting more serious about this thing. I decided it was time to make sure I had enough animals to choose from for all the letters. X is tricky, but when I researched other alphabet books, they had to do weird animals that no one’s ever heard of too. So, I should be good. In addition to this, I think I have two new ideas for smaller paintings that I am looking forward to doing. Can’t wait to get back to painting! This winter will be good for it. I just hope I can move my hands up here in the arctic of our studio. It gets pretty rough up here sometimes.

"Dainty Doggy" by Gina Matarazzo

“Dainty Doggy” by Gina Matarazzo

This New Year’s Eve, I thought about new experiences and meaningful moments in life and how we don’t always recognize them while they’re happening. They all don’t have to be life altering moments like the birth of a child. Simple, beautiful moments like the first time your love said “I love you,” or the first time you saw the sun rise over the ocean count. We rang in the New Year with a bunch of family and friends, watching all three “Lord of the Rings” extended director’s cut films (about twelve hours worth!) I remembered how moving and meaningful to me each movie was the first time I saw them – particularly the third oneΒ  – and how it will never be the same as watching it for the first time. There are a lot of movies like that. I mean, how can “Planet of the Apes” (the original version) ever be as good as the first time you watch it? I wonder how many more impactful moments I can look forward to? Some other great moments of mine were bottle feeding my kitties when they were only ten days old, climbing a mountain in Connemara Ireland with MS, standing beside the Eiffel Tower as it sparkled, fixing up our house to get it ready to move into, the moment MS admitted he intended to marry me, and the first time I read “Oliver Twist” and “To Kill a Mockingbird. What are some of your favorite moments or experiences?

Here’s to a great New Year filled with amazing moments!

See you soon!

