Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve had this image of an alligator with a cupcake in my head for several months now. He was going to be part of a full painting, but I wasn’t getting what I wanted out of him with other characters/scenery. At least not at the time. Sometimes I revisit things to see if I can work things out, sometimes a few months later, sometimes years later. I drew him the other day  just to get him out of my head. I’ve been kicking the idea around for an alphabet book for years now, and think maybe that’s how I can use him. “A” is for Alligator, after all. I always wanted to do an alphabet book and had a couple opportunities with illustrating alphabet books over the years, but they never panned out. It could be a lot of fun and a nice project to do over several months time. As I’ve said before, I like having something to go to when I’m in between projects.

On the painting front, I’ve been making pretty good progress with the bear portrait, nearing the time where I REALLY need a new idea ready for when I finish the painting. Everything is painted in now, I just need to fix and refine things now and add the details that are missing. I’d love to finish it soon, but we’ll see how it goes. No rush really and I’m trying to be more forgiving of myself in regards to personal deadlines, since I can drive myself nuts.

So, now off to paint some more. See you soon!

