Tags

, , , , , , ,

Here’s a peek at the progress on my gypsy painting. I’ve only focused on the background so far. It’s the boring part. I say it’s boring, because to me it’s boring painting trees and shrubbery. It’s about 70% done. Next I plan to work up the foreground to about that same percentage of finish, then work on the border. After those parts are worked on, I’ll work on the 30% of detail that will need to be added, punch up the lights and darks and adjust colors where necessary. That might seem like a weird process, but it’s partly a way of keeping myself interested in a project and just partly the way I control a picture’s progress. It’s kinda like eating Thanksgiving Dinner. I work around my whole plate, while some people eat each thing separately. I had a professor that suggested you had to work on the boring parts first, because you’ll get bored with a piece and either never finish it, or it’ll just come out bad. I think I agree with her. Below the sneak peek is the previous stage of the painting for you to reminisce how it used to look…



Some people assume when you love to make art, it must always be fun. Often it is, but a lot of times it’s still work. For example, this 70% ratio I talk about above is mostly work for me. Don’t get me wrong, it’s enjoyable or I wouldn’t do it, but it’s work. To me, the last 30% is the fun part. Although, it fluctuates depending on my mood and the success of the work session. My friend Patch said recently on FB, “they call it artWORK, not artEASY.” So true!

Maybe I can come up with an example. Hmm. Maybe it’s similar to skydiving? Bear with me here. First, let’s assume that skydiving is fun for you even if it’s not actually fun for you personally. You could say that the two hour drive to the airport isn’t much fun, but it’s part of the fun – the anticipation of it all. Then you talk with some instructor about what it will be like to jump and what you need to do to survive the jump, then you get on the airplane and after an hour or whatever, your plane is high enough to make the jump. At this point you are either excited or scared to death the whole time on the plane, then you have to wait until it’s your turn to jump. Finally it’s your turn and you probably want to puke. And then after a little shortness of breath and contemplating whether you should go through with it or not (which probably feels like you’re standing there for an hour, but it’s really only been a minute) – you jump! At first you’re like holy crap what the heck did I just do?!!! And then you notice yourself falling through the sky and it’s amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And then it’s over in a snap and you probably can’t wait to do it again. I’ve never skydived before, but that’s what I assume it might be like. And that’s kinda what painting can be like. I’m not sure if that quite made my point successfully or not, but it was fun thinking about it. Haha.

Well…I have to cut things short to finish up a freelance project. See you next time!

