Progress on my gypsy oil painting is slow going. I’ve had to put it aside for other projects and some days I’ve just been too tired to do anything after a long day of work. Allergies? Dunno. Anyway, I hope to have an updated photo for you for the next post.

In the meantime, here is a project of mine from my day job that was rejected. I think it’s adorable, but what do I know? I altered it some to show you. I took out the girl’s photos and changed the names and text. Sometimes if we have a design that we really liked, we save them and try to recycle them for another job. It always occurs to me to do that, but I never remember. Besides, a new project comes with new inspiration, so it doesn’t matter anyway.

Duh Alert!: Would you believe after 11 years of designing album covers concurrent with having a website, it just occurred to me to put CD design samples on my website? Seriously. Like two months ago. Was I waiting for an invitation? No idea what I was thinking. I would have lots of them to post by now, but I don’t because I rarely sought permission to use them for my portfolio. It’s one thing to put them in a private portfolio case, but a different ballgame for an online portfolio. So as time moves on, I’m trying to collect some projects to display, basically just to prove that I do album covers for a living.

On a fun side note, here are a couple games that my nerdy designer pals share with each other to pass the time. The first one is about kerning type. If you don’t know what “kerning” type means, you’ll understand immediately if you follow this link:

http://type.method.ac/

The second one is fun for everyone! In this game you try to pick whether the font name is a cheese or a font. Great fun! I might have posted this before, but I can’t remember:

http://cheeseorfont.com/

On a completely unrelated note, I just finished reading “To Kill a Mockingbird.” I had never read it in high school, so I thought it would be a great idea. After all, I saw the movie a long time ago and loved it. What an enjoyable read! I thoroughly enjoyed the prose, the world of Maycomb County, the characters, the social/civil rights struggle handled with great sensitivity, and how well the author captured what it’s like to be a child. Harper Lee wrote so beautifully, she made it seem like it was effortless, like a ballerina’s dance. While I was logging the book into my Goodreads.com account, I noticed one girl’s review was ZERO stars and she went off on a tirade about how awful the book was. ZERO? Really? Not one or two? ZERO? Every point she went through I completely disagreed with and most of it seemed like bad facts rather than opinion. It was like the twilight zone. Was this review for the right book?! Then I noticed she had put down that she read the book in 1993 and posted the review like two years ago. Now, I don’t have the greatest memory, but I’ll tell ya, I wouldn’t be able to give a detailed review of something I read so long ago. At some point it seemed clear to me that she either didn’t read the book or didn’t read the whole book. I won’t get into too many details, but here’s one example of what she was particularly angry about. She complained about how the book is portrayed/marketed as a “coming of age” book and in her words “…it never happens!” First, you can’t expect children to come of age completely in a book that chronicles about 3 or four years of their childhood. Harper Lee touches on their coming of age. Secondly, there’s a whole chapter right after the Tom Robinson trial verdict on how Jem is withdrawn and not acting like himself and Atticus tells Scout basically that he’s processing things and when he’s able to file it away in his head, he’ll come around and be OK. I don’t know about you, but that sounds a lot like a kid becoming aware of the world around him to me.

I just love how people feel powerful leaving contrary reviews and comments on sites. Have you ever read some of the film reviews on Netflix? Quite entertaining. But never take their word for it before watching a movie. ;}

I figured she was probably summoning up her angst ridden 17 year old experience from 1993 of “being forced” to read it in school. The horror! I remember being 17 and having similar angst issues for various reasons, so I can relate a little, but I’ve come to understand that with time you see things differently. I would challenge her to read it again, but it sounds like she hasn’t grown up very much. Knowing myself very well,  I know I would have loved “To Kill a Mockingbird” when I was 17 too, but I also know there are things about it that I wouldn’t have appreciated that I appreciate now. Let me say that I don’t think all teenagers are dramatic and angst ridden. There are actually lots of real teenagers who reviewed the book with five stars on there too.

So, this topic starts my plea for suggestions. Please recommend my next read. I am jonesing for a new book now. Fiction preferred.

See you next time!

