Tags

, , , , ,

I have so many things to blab about this week that I feel the need to categorize for you.

Memories:

Funny how memories come back to you. I remember seeing Brandon Lee’s last interview years ago and he said one thing that always struck me. It was about memories and how just the very act of having a memory conjured up is a finite experience. You really never know how many times a certain memory will be triggered, so you should appreciate those moments just as much as the memory. Twice this happened to me this week. It was rainy and overcast and as I walked into work, there was a mood and lighting to the place that triggered a memory of how I used to LOVE being in school on a rainy day like that when I was little. There was just a warm and cozy glow in the atmosphere that made me gleeful. Maybe that’s why I’ve always loved a rainy day and splashing about in puddles? Outside of the actual experience, that’s the first time I ever remember recalling that feeling. Second, a FB friend posted these wonderful Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem posters by Michael DePippo this morning (which of course, I must have!), and while admiring these, I instantly remembered how I had a fabulous Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem poster in my bedroom when I was little too. I just loved it! The color! The fun! I even kind of remember the day I took it down, thinking I was too old to have such a childish thing on my wall (so sad, little Gina!).

Embroidery:

On a completely different topic, check out this great embroidery example that LethargicLass did of one of my embroidery patterns. Didn’t she do a lovely job? I just love it when y’all show me how your projects turn out! Keep ’em coming!

October Shadows:

Next, I am so excited to share some great news! Last week I got a hot tip from friends (Thanks Kara and Tom!) about the “October Shadows” show that Creature Features has hosted for the past few years. At the last minute I submitted work and was accepted! If only I had more time…I would have done so many new pieces for the show. The theme is traditional Halloween and you all know I’m just a bit enthusiastic about Halloween. The challenge was to create anything of any medium inspired by cats, bats, owls, candy corn, etc. So, yes, my friends, I sacrificed the noisemakers I made for myself a couple weeks ago. Masks were also encouraged as there will be a mask display. Had I had more time I would have done something more elaborate, but paper ephemera is after all, a huge part of vintage Halloween, so paper it was!

The show is in Altadena, CA at Mountain View Mausoleum and the show opens Oct. 2nd. If any of you are local to that area, check it out! Lots of amazing artists will be exhibiting work. Here’s a reminder of my “Halloween Dream” painting I did last year that I shipped off too.

I sure hope they post pictures of the event. I’d love to see the rest of the exhibit. I’ll be sure to link to it if they do. Here are the show hours if you missed it in the link above:

This free event opens on Sunday, October 2nd at the art gallery inside of the Mountain View Mausoleum, 2300 N. Marengo Avenue in Altadena, CA 91001 (view map) and will run each Saturday from 11am to 5pm and Sunday from 11am – 3pm through the entire month of October.

Gypsies:

And finally…YES! MS has mounted my gypsy drawing to the board (today) and after I sand it down a few times, I will be ready to start it. Can’t wait!

Adopt a Less Adoptable Pet Week:

Oh!–Did you know it’s Adopt a Less Adoptable Pet Week? Thanks for the heads up from Patty of Pip Stitch. Why go to a puppy mill or a pet store when you can help out a little four (or three!) pawed pal who’s down on his luck. Check out Petfinder to find someone to love or just to help spread the word! Our current cats were shelter animals and I’ll always have a special place in my heart for the AWA and the like.

Wrap Up:

That certainly was a lot for one week. Have fun putting up your Halloween decorations. G’head! Do it now! See you next time!


