I was just laughing my butt off earlier at an episode of “All in the Family” where Edith is going through menopause. She’s acting very emotional and Archie is trying to be agreeable with her. It’s pretty much against his whole nature to do that, so he blows up and tells her like it is and for a second Edith is happy that things are like normal. Then a second or two later she turns around and yells at him like a banshee. He just turns around, defeated and says: “…Well…back to the groin-o-cologist.” I love how they made him get words wrong. They never seemed to run out of good ones. Of course it started me thinking about menopause. Good grief. I hope everyone doesn’t get like that! What a lovely thing to look forward to! Yeesh.

Here’s a shot of my painting at a second pass. Just building up color and whatnot. This shot is from last Friday.

Here’s a shot of my desk. You can see all the reference sitting around to help me figure stuff out. It’s hard to tell with the lighting and the dull paint areas, but I have gotten a lot farther with it. I’m having a lot of fun, and surprisingly, there hasn’t been any cursing! The only thing that’s been annoying is the transparent paints. Some blues, greens and purples are transparent and make it difficult to work sometimes. I use a medium called liquin to speed up the drying, but it also makes paint more translucent, so it’s not always wise to use it. It’s not a big deal. It just means I have to wait for some layers to dry before being able to build up the paint layers. This this is part of the reason why I went digital – I didn’t feel like waiting around for paint to dry.


At this point I’m about ready to start painting some sheep. Then I figure it’ll be time to work the sky/clouds again and THEN…the real fun begins! My favorite part of the process! Putting in all the extra details and highlights, boosting shadows, smoothing edges and just making everything come together.

Lastly, here’s a new embroidery pattern in my shop! I think I mentioned how time flies last time. And so it does!

That’s all for now. Have a fabulous weekend! See you next time!

