As I inspect what’s left of the black fingernail polish on my nails this week, I wonder whether all the nail polish I’ve eaten (I chew on my nails from time to time) over the years will result in some kind of health problem. Terrible habit, I know. I prefer to think that ingesting such material only makes me stronger, like exposing oneself to germs to develop an immunity or taking small amounts of cyanide each day so said poison won’t affect you if someone tries to kill you. But I digress…

x

x

Here’s my entry for the Spoonflower.com tea towel contest. I made the deadline literally by minutes. I wouldn’t have been so late except for A), I never wrote the deadline down and B) I wrote out the calendar by hand at the last minute – which was not a part of my plan (I had to improvise)! Giddy99 pointed me to the contest a little while ago and reminded me just in the nick of time! Thanks, Giddy! I went pretty simple on this. These can be a lot of fun…I might do some more. I’m not a stranger to designing calendar pieces with months slapped in the middle of them (we do calendar designs every year at work to give out to clients for the holidays). It’s trickier than you might think to make that irritating text look good.

This week we have to give our poor Gidget (a.k.a. Frances Lawrence, Fatty, Fatty-Fatty, Brownie Face, Sweetie Pie) medicine. Let me preface this story by saying that ever since she was a wee kitty, she was fiercely against taking medicine. She’d clamp that teensy little mouth shut like a bear trap and wriggle away like Penelope the Cat out of Pepe Le Pew’s grip. So, you can imagine, now that she’s 2 and-a-half and built like a little brick house, it’s much more difficult. Anyway, it’s sad that I’m laughing at the poor kitty, but her ordeal has been exactly like a cartoon. After finally getting the medicine in her mouth after prying her mouth open, her eyes widened, pupils dilated…4 seconds of stillness passed…and the medicine just oozed out of her mouth in extreme distaste (apparently it didn’t really taste much like chicken…and cats don’t know how to spit). See below for my illustration (scroll down slowly for effect)…

x

x

Poor Kitty! All we could do was offer “So sorry, Fatty-Fatty…we’re trying to help you…” and “I know it’s yucky…” in vain. Thanks to the super short term memory of cats, she forgot all about it in mere minutes and walked happily into our trap this morning. Awwwww…kitty!

Anyway…if I didn’t take time to draw silly little things like this, I might get some other work done sometime. Signing off…

See you next time!

