O sweet love–I call you needle felting! Let me preface this by saying I’ve been putting off learning it since I bought my kit in February. I was a little worried it was complicated. Let me just say it’s one of the oddest crafts I’ve ever done, and yet one of the most remarkably satisfying activities. At first, I thought the wool and fuzziness might bother me as a medium that would be unruly and unfinished looking. And, well…it is a little unruly and unfinished looking–but in a wonderful way. The odd, zen-like satisfaction of stabbing the wool into submission until it forms the shape you are trying to make is quite invigorating. Does that reflect badly on me? It’s rather amazing to see the transformation. At first you are uncertain if this fuzzy, blobby mess will ever do what you want it to and then, by gum, it starts obeying your repetitive pokes and submits. Sure, as with most creative pursuits, I think you still have to be flexible as it has some limitations, but it’s quite pleasing. Below is my first stab at it…haha…stab…get it? Sorry. 😉 Ain’t he cute? I love him!!! Now that I have succeeded in my little test project, I am excited to see how I can apply it to my Halloween collection!

xx

Finally, I believe my “Ode to Home” is complete. I’m very happy how it turned out. It came out a bit differently than I expected, and yet, just like I wanted. You see a pattern developing here? Flex-i-bil-ity. I think that’s one of the best parts about creativity: knowing when to take control and when to just let things happen. Such are the building blocks of an easier life, right? Click on the photo to see the details better. There’s a lot going on in there.

xx

Here are my Halloween Treat Cups. This is a new project for experienced crafters. The key for success on this project is that you need to know how to handle an exacto knife pretty well. This is a set of three adorable cups to brighten up your holiday table or to hand out to friends with candy inside. The project is a seven page PDF. It includes the printable treat cups and very detailed instructions (with photos) on how to assemble them. This is a great item, because for a few dollars you can make as many of these as you want and if the cups get ruined this year, you can always make new ones next year.

xx

And now…the weed that was not in fact a weed! MS and my mom kept thinking this was a weed in the front of the house. You probably know by now that I’m not the greatest gardener in the world, but really–I know if I planted something somewhere. I had planted purple coneflowers last year, so I kept saying it must be my purple coneflowers and not to touch it! Well, apparently I forgot I also planted black eyed susans. There are no signs of the purple coneflowers anywhere, but no matter! These are lovelier!

xx

Finally!!! The suspense is killing me!  It’s time for the reveal of my TRUE LOVE embroidery pattern challenge! The official list reads as follows in order of importance (to me, that is!):

  1. TRUE LOVE: Peanut Butter and Jelly! (Finished)
  2. TRUE LOVE: Milk and Cookies!
  3. TRUE LOVE: Bacon and Eggs!
  4. TRUE LOVE: Macaroni and Cheese!
  5. TRUE LOVE: Peanut Butter and Chocolate! (Truest match!)

So the winner of the previous challenge is Lisa from The Bunny Log! Hooray! She guessed three of the remaining four TRUE LOVE pairs! Congratulations, Lisa! She guessed numbers 2, 4 and 5. Nice job! She will receive a free embroidery pattern of her choosing from my Etsy shop.

It was fun to see everyone’s guesses and really hard not to tell the answers! A couple of you got bacon and eggs too. I am SO surprised no one guessed that peanut butter and chocolate was my absolute truest match. Perhaps I’m the only one who thinks it’s a match made in heaven!? Could it be? More for me, then!

Hope everyone had a great 4th! Until next time, keep creating!

