x
x
I spied this flower a-bloom on a bush in front of our house this morn. (Lookee there. That sentence had some iambic pentameter to it!) How delightful!–since I’m usually not delighted when I leave the house in the morning. My excitement over it is because this bush has not flowered at all since we’ve lived in our house (this is our second spring). It kept looking like it would bloom, but never did. I don’t expect many more blooms now, but next year it might. I don’t even know what the heck the bush is. Any guesses? This was taken in the evening. It closes up at night.
x
x
x
x
And behold this magnificent blue color! Last year the hydrangeas in front were a weak purplish/pink color and now–this loveliness! Silly as it seemed, I guess pouring all that old coffee into the ground last year worked. I should definitely continue doing that with the new ones. Sadly, my newly planted hydrangeas aren’t doing very well in the back yard, but I must give them time…as a mama bird gives her babies time to learn how to fly before kicking them out of the nest (At least I think she gives them time, doesn’t she?). Boy, I am still learning the ropes. I realized after I planted all the flowers that I should have filled in the beds with more greenery first and then planted for color.
x
x
x
x
We have so many rocks in the yard. I tried to fill in a space with these lovely variegated plants and there was a rock the size of a wee football player in the dirt that I couldn’t yank out. It’s particularly vexing, because we are supposed to buy some rocks to line the rest of the flower beds this weekend and I’m sure we have plenty of rocks in the dirt.
x
x

x
x
I just love these too. Aren’t they purty? If I could remember what they are, I’d buy more. Petunias? Am I not the worst gardener of all time?
x
x
x
x
And here’s an update on my visual ode. I’m really liking the way it’s turning out, and IĀ  am enjoying the creativity of expanding upon my design as I go. At first I wasn’t enjoying it, but now I’m having fun with the embellishments. I could go on like this forever. But…I probably won’t.
x
More embroidery patterns in the works this week, but nothing to show just yet. Stay tuned.
