Our first tomatoes growing.

Our first tomatoes growing.

Hydrangea blooming!

Hydrangea blooming!

We’ve had hydrangeas in bloom and actual tomatoes growing! There are even buds/nubs/flowers on the pepper and jalapeno plants too. The zucchini plants have sprouted so many flowers, it’s amazing! So simple, but so exciting. πŸ˜‰ Taking care of them = awesome. I was a little too close to the tomatoes when I took the picture. They are a lot bigger now. I fertilized the tomato plants last week and they’ve grown at least another 8 inches taller. Crazy!

I just never appreciated these things before. And it’s funny, now, when we go for our walks after dinner, I pay attention to everyone’s yard and gardens to see what other people do. It’s not that I didn’t think flowers and gardens were pretty. I just never needed to know. It reminds me of when we were looking for houses to buy and all of a sudden I was noticing houses all over the place. Sure, I looked at them before, but when it became more pertinent to my life, I could really take notice. It was a far off distant dream that didn’t seem real before. Everything seems so new now. I look forward to experiencing all the seasons in our house and I wonder, after that first year, will everything become routine again and the years shuffle by? Or will I still feel like we’re living more in the present as we are now? Just simply having the ability to not be near a TV or be “plugged in” is the greatest thing. It was hard to do that in the apartment.

I call her Lily.

I call her Lily.

I have finished my first Halloween doll of the season. Meet Lily. In the end, I decided against the glittery slippers as she is not a fancy girl. She has a lot of personality now. I went back and messed her up with “dirt” and cut her up and sewed her back up to look old and worn. Was the best part.

