Here she is. Progress shots.

Head has a body.

Head has a body.

Body has a dress.

Body has a dress.

Dolly has leggings.

Dolly has leggings.

Dolly has hands, feet and petticoat.

Dolly has hands, feet and petticoat.

These are photos taken over the last four days. She already has a face and is getting some personality, but I won’t reveal that until she’s finished. Adding personality is the extra fun part. I enjoy making dolls. It’s kind of like 3 dimensional illustration for me. Funny, though. Never liked playing with dolls. Still don’t. 😉

The best part about Halloween dolls is that mistakes look nice. At first I was worried about her because she was looking kind of perfect. Not good. So now I’m adding crummy details. I’m really terrible about measuring. I sewed three hand and three feet because two were too small. Now, had they been one extra big hand and foot next to an extra small hand and foot, that would have been ok. Apart from the head, I’m basically making patterns as I go.

I’m trying to figure out how to make glittery Wizard of Oz shoes without buying any more stuff. How can I not do that, what with the striped leggings and all? I have glitter… (not red, but still…)

