Finally! I’ve started working on this year’s Halloween dolls. This year I’m doing some fabric construction dolls as opposed to wire and papier mache. See below the nice start at a folksy pumpkin kid body and a fine, plump pumpkin shaped head. I’ll post the progress whilst I make progress. 🙂 I have high hopes for these. I only made loose sketches and have no idea what the final products will look like. I look forward to the process of how they will take form from stuff I just happen to have around the studio. In retrospect, I realize some of the best Halloween dolls I’ve ever made were gifts for Halloween lovers like myself. Didn’t take photos. Oh well.

newdolls1

Deer! Look at these fantastic deer! Jessica Farris from Dear Girlface created these awesome wedding cake toppers. So great. I just love all the little details. Check out her shop: Dear Girlface. She makes great jewelry and is also a talented graphic designer that I have the good fortune to work with on a daily basis.

jessicasdeer

Here is a great book that Kristen, my sister-in-law sent me. A really cute book about vintage table linens, aprons, etc. It talks about the history of embellished linens over the years and celebrates their good use. It’s called “The Kitchen Linens Book” by EllynAnne Geisel. Very inspiring. It even comes with a transfer pattern of vintage designs you can use to needlepoint your own projects. What fun! Thanks, Kristen!

book

And check out the great hand/arm warmers Kristen knitted for me. It’s hard to see in the photo, but it has a really cool scalloped pattern going on. There isn’t a bit of yarn out of place! Impressive needlework. I don’t think I could ever have the patience to knit. I think my mind would wander too much and I’d have trouble keeping track of loops and whatnot. These will come in very handy in the cold weather.

armwarmers

And last but not least, MS has been nominated again for a Chesley Award. Check it out: http://www.asfa-art.org/gaming.html We are surprised that this image is the one that was nominated. I like it. You never know who’s going to pick what.

Enjoy the weekend! One more day…

