Never Cared Much About Weather

Blooming rhododendron!

Blooming rhododendron!

Front of house landscaping in progress.

Front of house landscaping in progress.

Never minded rain at all, but since we’ve bought the house, it’s become so obvious how important a nice day is. Geez-o-petes! How are we supposed to fix up the yard with so much rain? Fortunately, Saturday we caught a break in the rain streak, despite the weather predictions.

We bought a bunch of stuff we’ve been needing for the yard at Lowe’s and bought a few plants (we love to say “plahntz” for fun). After I planted a purple rhododendron and a blue hydrangea bush, I noticed the card said they would get 8′ and 5′ tall respectively, so I had to replant them a little more apart so they have room to grow. I transplanted several hostas too. We had hostas growing all over the place in weird spots, so it was either they gotta go, or they gotta move. Some weren’t the greatest specimens, so I really don’t expect them to stay alive. But a good many of them were hearty, so hopefully they will thrive. The other rhododendron on the other side of the house (a pink one!) is already blooming. See above! It’s so much fun seeing the plants come alive now. I had no idea it would bloom. I’m such a goof. I’m almost as ignorant of plants as I am with makes and models of cars. We have a rose bush in the backyard too that’s a little wonky. Has been abandoned for so long, I don’t know how it will fare. And since we’re just trying to get things going, I don’t know if I’ll get to it in time.

I must admit, I don’t think I would have been as interested in the yard if it wasn’t for the fact that a previous owner really did a lot of work on it. I wish I could see what it was like a few years ago. The house was vacant for almost two years, so it kind of went to pot. The neighbor in the back said there was even a pond back there, which accounts for the odd electrical outlet that the home inspector told us to get rid of.

The pond probably accounts for why there was a lot of slate, stone and rocks in the backyard. MS started putting them to good use out front, lining the flower beds. It like the way it looks. I lined the pathways with them too. I probably wouldn’t have ever agreed to do this, because I know stone and slate is expensive – isn’t it? So thanks, old homeowner! It’s really helping make the house look cottage-like.

And I just can’t wait to get the porch fixed! It’s gonna add so much fun to the house. It was such a nice day puttering around and will be even better when we can sit comfortably on the porch, sipping lemonade or whatever. 🙂 If the weather is good, JE said he can work on it this weekend. I’m psyched!

For the record, I spent the whole afternoon in dirty nature. I even picked up a worm!!! With my bare hand! For those of you who know me, I’ve always referred to trees and shrubs and a dirt-type landscape as “dirty” nature. My definition of “dirty” nature is one in which you can get quite dirty and bugs are all over the place waiting to live in your hair. The opposite of “dirty” nature is a cool climate with wide open spaces, low grasses and sparse trees (less tick-friendly zones). It’s really all about the concentration of bugs. I’d die if I ever found myself in the rainforest.

