Although it might seem like I haven’t gotten very far with my sketch, I plod on. There was one significant change to the sketch this week. I couldn’t put my finger on it for a day or so, but the trees in the foreground were bothering me. Finally, I figured out what it was: too short! Not only were they plain boring, because they were too short to see the limbs of the tree, but they weren’t really adding what I wanted to the scene. Now the taller trees add a sense of intimacy to this fun gypsy get-together. Not only that, but they help to portray a better sense of depth in the landscape. I think it’s a step in the right direction. I still have a long way to go, but at least this part is a lot more fun than just gathering reference.

Here’s an overall look:

And some details of the characters. Still rough though…

And as I draw, a lot of things pop up that I will still need better reference for.

On a side note, some of you have expressed an interest in getting a print of the Elephant Joyride piece I did last. So now, by popular demand, I’ve added it to my Etsy shop. :) Available in 8″ x 10″ and 11″ x 14.”

And that is all for now. Have an excellent end of week/weekend.

